top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHang Doan Diem Vu

Learn to make Vietnamese spring rolls (nem) with me

Updated: Jun 13, 2021

It is my honor to be featured on the official Instagram of my faculty - International Communication Management (@fontys_ICM) in February 2020.





One beautiful day in January 2020, ICM's Instagram manager contacted me. She wanted to introduce to everyone about my home country - Vietnam, via a culinary video. And immediately, I said yes to her suggestion, since it was almost near our Lunar New Year celebration.


Attached here is the link to the Instagram post, as well as my video script. Hope you can learn something from my tutorial video, and if you decide to give yourself a try in making this dish, chúc bạn thành công! (good luck in Vietnamese!)




Script:

"Hi. I’m Hang from class ICM 201 and I am from Vietnam. Today, I will introduce how to make a northern Vietnamese traditional dish in Lunar New Year, which is ‘nem’ in Vietnamese, ‘spring rolls’ in English and ‘loempia’ in Dutch. It’s super easy and don’t worry, i already make a summary about the recipe so please watch till the end!


Since we are in a lockdown, I try to make this dish with all the stuffs I have in fridge so this recipe only has 80% of all the traditional ingredients. But the tase is still the same, I guarantee! It’s already been more than a year since the last time I visited Vietnam - my home country. I miss my family, friends and of course, Vietnamese dishes a lot so making ‘nem’ is definitely a healing dose to my homesickness. In Vietnam, my family always gathers around before the Lunar New Year to make spring rolls because it has been our family traditional custom for years.


Deep frying spring rolls is a must, even though it is definitely not so healthy. But I’ll take this as a treat for myself after a long and weird year.


Hope you will enjoy the dish ❤️"

11 views0 comments
bottom of page